Why I pray

When faced with unspeakable horrors, I pray. Not because it can turn time back, undo reality or make anyone hurt less in the face of fear or loss. I pray because I know that today is the start of many people’s deepest misery. I pray because when we see the demonstrated reality of horror and evil, I believe more firmly than ever in the greater power behind peace, goodness and love.

Friends, let’s be slow to judge. Let’s be careful what social and political conversations we saddle to this event. Let’s never forget these are real people, real lives and real beating hearts, either broken or no longer beating. Let’s demonstrate the opposite power of the evil we saw was possible in a fellow person. And since I know my imperfections far outweigh the things I get just right, let’s pray.

Leave a Reply

