Make: Numi Pu-erh and Salba “bubble tea”

I have been enjoying this as a mid-morning fill-me-up. Using hydrated chia seeds in place of tapioca has infused my drink with omega-3’s,  dietary fiber, antioxidants, calcium, magnesium and iron. As a bonus, the seeds puff up with water and actually help curb snack cravings. I have never wanted to eat less snacks, but common sense says I should. This is one of the first things that has helped me do it. I feel too full to munch on Bugles (poor Betty Francis).

For many reasons, I choose Salba Smart, in part because I have an existing relationship with the brand. However, I am inclined to think that even if I didn’t I would choose them because they are non-GMO, offer an organic option, and as the only registered varieties of Salba, can guarantee nutritional consistency. Plus, most chia is black or brown and looks too gritty to me to be appetizing. Choose your favorite and give it shot; post in the comments which one you chose and what you thought.

Fair warning: The tea has the slippery “bubble” consistency like boba, but the seeds are smaller. I really enjoy it but I’d be lying if I said it didn’t take me by surprise the first time I tried it. If peer pressure motivates you, I can tell you it’s cool in San Francisco, so…yeah.

Pu-erh and Salba ‘bubble tea’

  1. Mix 1 level tablespoon of chia or Salba with 1/4 cup of cool or warm water and set aside.
  2. Brew 1 bag of Numi Pu-erh tea in 1/2 cup of water (Experiment with this for flavor; I like to make it a bit more concentrated).
  3. This is the best step to sweeten the tea. I usually don’t sweeten it because sugar begets more sugar in my world and this is about curbing the noshing for me.
  4. Check on the hydrated Salba and stir to break up any clumps. If the mixture looks gelatinous and the seeds seem suspended in the liquid, you are good to go. Any clusters or floating seeds are an indication it needs to soak just a bit longer.
  5. Once the Salba looks ready, add the milk to the tea to bring down the temp a bit and gently stir in the seeds to the tea.

There are a few lines of chia-infused bottled teas and kombucha, so you could likely make a batch of iced tea with the Salba ‘gel’ and drink that when you are wanting something to sip on during the day.There are some folks who will just drink hydrated chia, but I can’t, and don’t want to when the tea is so delicious.

I love this little combo, because the benefits of the Pu-erh and the Salba make me feel like I am doing something good for me but it’s also kind of fun to drink due to the semi-weirdness. It’s an unsnack.

Try it out and let me know if you would make any changes or have feedback in the comments!

Leave a Reply

